Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Canopy Mounting / Things to Glue

Posted by dahlkyle 
Canopy Mounting / Things to Glue
January 28, 2019 05:01PM
Hi Guys,

I'm excited that people are starting to receive their kits. In the kits I put a note directing people to this forum for questions and tips and tricks. I hope people keep looking here.

As I hear about issues and recommendations from customers etc, I will be posting about them here in this forum.

The first Topic is about something I found from the canopy while flying with Robin and Pascal Lipke the other day.

In the canopy, to support it and keep it from moving there is 2 small foam blocks mounted with Foam Tape that press against the front frame. This is the system that I have been using and have tested for over 6 months now. It requires that you spread a little bit the canopy when putting it on. On Robins canopy when he came back from the flight one of the blocks was missing. I don't think it came off in flight as it is sandwiched between the frame and the canopy so it can't really come out once its on. But I think when he was putting the canopy on her accidentally knocked it off.

So basically
A) make sure you spread the canopy when putting it on,
cool smiley If you want to be really safe you can even drip a little bit of Super Glue between the block and the tape, and the tap and the canopy.

Also. In my experience the canopy grommets also last a lot longer if you also drip a bit of CA on them. You can glue from the inside carefully while holding the canopy up with the outside surface up and the inside facing down. Just be sure not to use to much and pay attention that it doesn't run to the outside and mess up your finish.

Thats all for Glogo Tips for now.

Thanks guys, and happy building!
Re: Canopy Mounting / Things to Glue
January 28, 2019 09:39PM
Hi Kyle.
Thank you for your first tips. Do you have a setup tip for us? TS and rear gain?

A parameter setup would be cool by the master himself.