Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Logo 550SX 2017 - Head Failure

Posted by Brianmurray77 
Logo 550SX 2017 - Head Failure
June 29, 2018 04:48AM
I've been flying my Logo 550SX 2017 for about 6 months, however, this morning while making a typical flight, the bolt holding the main blade grip to the spindle shaft snapped. The blade grips exploded away from the head and the heli crashed to the ground. Not Cool..

Attached is a picture of the snapped bolt in the spindle shaft.

Any ideas why this happened?

Thanks in advance for your opinions.
B

Re: Logo 550SX 2017 - Head Failure
June 29, 2018 10:16AM
Hi Brian,

sorry to hear.

There are a couple of possible reasons: the bold could have been tightened too much or too little, the bolt could have come loose but not enough so you didn't not notice, since it was still within the tension of the dampening, the bolt could have had a nick in it, acting as a predetermined breaking point, it could have been weakened by an earlier mishap, blades touching the ground, tip-over, crash.

In general, the load limit for the bolts is a multiple of the loads which the bolt has to sustain, within the recommended rpm.
But what I can not tell is, if you would do the infamous overspeeds maneuvers frequently, how that stress would affect the longevity of the bolts, over time.

Kind regards

Eddi

Born to fly ...
forced to work.
July 03, 2018 05:12AM
I received parts today to repair the exploded head..

Not knowing the Spindle Shaft included End Screws, I purchased them as well.. As listed in the manual, these screws are M4x12 Cap Screws.

While opening the packages, I noticed the End Screws & Washers included with the new Spindle Shaft are shorter than the M4x12 I purchased separately. See Picture. The included screws measure about 9.5mm long..

3 Questions

1. Which screws should I use. The M4x12 seem to just bottom out when placed into the spindle shaft..
2. What size screw was included in the kit?