Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Mini Vbar, pitch curve and control rates questions

Posted by Fluburtur 
Mini Vbar, pitch curve and control rates questions
February 18, 2018 05:54PM
Hey, first post here.

I recently got a used trex 450 from a friend that came with a mini vbar. I did all the mechanical setup (was already nearly perfect) and it is now ready to fly however I have some questions.

It doesn't seem like I can change the amount of positive/negative collective pitch and cyclic pitch in the software, I guess the agility slider will make the bird docile even with fairly high maximum pitch but I wanted to know if I could program a pitch curve and cyclic rates in the radio directly.

I did search on the internet for several days and found everything and its opposite so I just wanted to be sure.

I don't really need 14° of positive and negative collective pitch as I am just learning (however I already fly planes and have no problem with them, not a total newbie to rc stuff)

-4 to +10° of collective would be plenty and probably less than 15° of cyclic as well.

I would be grateful if you helped me on that, my bird wants to fly and so do I

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/18/2018 05:55PM by Fluburtur.
RV
Re: Mini Vbar, pitch curve and control rates questions
February 18, 2018 08:05PM
Collective:

- Sticks calibrated +-100% and linear curve in TX
- Set in VBar with the Slider to the max you need (e.g. 13 deg.)
- Alter curves in TX afterwards as you like ;-)

Cyclic:

- the throw isn't stick-related - it is controlled by the VBar depending on Stick (Target rate) and Sensor (Current Rate) values. So it should be set as close as possible to maximum (therefore use CR in Swash Expert at approx. hover Pitch with full ail+elev stick, set unless it binds there).